ASUAF Briefs – May 3, 2011

Jeremia Schrock / Sun Star Reporter
May 3, 2011

The following briefs were compiled from notes taken during the May 1, 2011 meeting of the ASUAF senate in the Alumni Lounge.


  • Jesse Cervin
  • Josh Cooper
  • Ryan Duffy
  • Ean Pfeiffer
  • John Netardus
  • Dillon Ball
  • Jennifer Chambers
  • Arthur Martin
  • Chelsea Holt
  • Robert Kinnard III
  • Hollie Seiler

Budget change

Planning, Analysis and Institutional Research (PAIR) estimates student enrollment figures. The figures that were used in this budget were “a little bit high” according to Executive Officer Sabra Phillips. Phillips altered several aspects of the ASUAF budget to reflect the new numbers. Phillips said that she wanted to discuss these changes with the senate before forwarding the budget to the Board of Regents (BOR). The BOR has the power to approve or veto the budget.

Election results unofficial

Sen. Ryan Duffy said that the results of the election would not be made official until next week since the counting of the paper ballots had just been completed before the meeting. Duffy said that there was no date that the results had to be read by, but added that he would read them at the next meeting.

Note: However, the Sun Star is calling the election in favor of the following candidates:

  • Chelsea Holt
  • John Netardus
  • Timothy Grediangin
  • Hollie Seiler
  • Rosemary Paz
  • Mari Freitag/Dillon Ball

Coalition representative

Sen. Jennifer Chambers moved to nominate ASUAF’s representative to the Coalition of Student Leaders. Pres. Nikki Carvajal is the current representative and said that the student body president was generally selected to serve. Sen. Chambers nominated Mari Freitag. A representative will be chosen during the next senate meeting.

Election manual changes

SR 176-007: Election Manual. This senate resolution would make changes to the Elections Manual. It was sent to Executive Committee.

Summer committee

SB 176-026: Summer Senate Committee. During the summer session, members of the summer committee will not be called “senators.” Instead, they will be called “committee members.” Also the committee will only be allotted $1,000 from rollover with which to operate. By a vote of 9-0-1 the bill was passed. Summer committee members will be nominated during the next senate meeting.

SAE funding
SB 176-025: Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) would allot $2,000 to the organization. The bill was sponsored by Jesse Cervin. “I think this is a really terrible idea,” said Sen. Jennifer Chambers, adding that SAE had already been awarded a grant from the student travel fund. Chambers continued by saying that the senate cannot draw from rollover on a regular basis and that funding SAE would send the wrong message to other clubs who do not receive as much funding. Sens. Dillon Ball and Chelsea Holt spoke in support of the bill, adding that SAE’s taking part in competitions outside of campus adds prestige to the institution. Executive committee recommended that the senate adopt the SAE funding bill. A motion was made to have the $2,000 come from the vacant technology officer position. The bill was approved by a vote of 7-2-1.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *