ASUAF Recap-November 4, 2012

Claire-Elise Baalke/Sun Star Reporter
November 6, 2012

Senators Present

Blake Burley, Olivia Bowen, Michael Magnan, Michael Golub, Rusty Young, McKinley Zackurdaew, Will Collingwood, Alya O’Scannell, Bryant Hopkins, Matthew Dakus and Virginia Miner

Senators Absent

Nathaniel O’Connor, Andy Chamberlain and Sarah Walker

Officers Present

Mari Freitag and Dillon Ball

Directors Present

Corey Boiko and Fred Brown

Guests Present

Michele Hebert, the Director of Sustainability and Brett Parks, the Board Chair of the RISE board, attended the meeting to clarify that the nominees to the RISE board need to go through an application process to become a member.


The Elections Board moved the date of elections to Nov. 29 and Nov. 30 from Nov. 15 and Nov. 16 because they did not advertise the election in The Sun Star three weeks in advance as dictated by the election manual bylaws. The candidate forum for people running for senate was moved to Nov. 26 and Nov. 27. Write in candidates to the Elections Board can be present at the candidate forum.

RISE board 

Freitag and Hèbert are working together to re-write the legislation as to the appointments of new members to the RISE board so that new members can be approved by the board itself. This will help ASUAF appoint members who will be beneficial to the board. The nominations for the RISE board was tabled for two weeks, until Nov. 18.


 Collingwood nominated himself and Golub nominated Zakurdaew to serve on the Board of Trustees, a governing board elected to direct the policies of an educational institution. Freitag  nominated Young to serve on the Elections Board.

Appeal to the Elections Board reviewed by the Council

A complaint was sent to the Elections Board because of a misunderstanding regarding the due date for petitions. On the print version of the petition application the date said Oct. 30. On the ASUAF website the due date was Oct. 26.

The Elections Board decided that this was a valid complaint but it would not affect elections. The Elections Review Council, who are in charge of coming to a final decision on complaints brought to the Elections Board, also agreed that it was a valid complaint and that it would not effect the elections. O’Scannell, Burley, Collingwood, Hopkins, Miner, Walker and Magnan serve on the council.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *