ASUAF Recap- October 14, 2012

Senators present

Will Collingwood, Bryant Hopkins, Virginia Miner, Michael Golub, Nathaniel O’Connor, Ayla O’Scannell, McKinley Zakurdaew, Matthew Dakus, Olivia Bowen, Michael Magnan and Blake Burley

Senators absent

Sarah Walker, Andy Chamberlain and Rusty Young

Officers present

Mari Freitag and Dillon Ball

Moving on

Frietag announced that ASUAF public relations director, Joshua Banks will be resigning from his job.  Banks received an opportunity to work with Senator John Coghill. His last day will be Oct. 24.

Voting is important

Fred Brown was nominated to serve on the elections board. The board oversees the elections by advertising about the elections, tallying up the votes and holding voting booths in the various locations on campus. The nomination was sent to the university relations committee.

Amendments make the world go ‘round

Walker sponsored “SB 179-005 Amendment to the Elections Bylaws.” The legislation would change the current section of the bylaws that restricts what the elections board can change in the elections manual . The legislation would omit the part of the bylaws that requires members of ASUAF to run for specific seat on the ASUAF senate. As a result, the elections board would have more say in how senators are elected and which seat they can run for. The legislation was sent to the internal affairs committee.

Nothing says a party like pizza

Hopkins sponsored legislation “SB 179-006 Funding for Pizza: 4th Candidate Forum.” The legislation would allocate $300 from senate projects to purchase pizza for the 4th candidate forum that will take place on Tuesday, Oct. 16 at 6 p.m. in Schaible auditorium. The legislation was expedited since the forum takes place on Tuesday. The senate passed the legislation by a 10-1-0 vote. Magnan abstained. 

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *