ASUAF Recap- October 23, 2012

Lakeidra Chavis/Sun Star Reporter
October 23, 2012

Senators present

Will Collingwood, McKinley Zakurdaew, Rusty Young, Michael Magnan, Virginia Miner, Sarah Walker, Olivia Bowen, Blake Burley and Micheal Golub

Senators absent

Ayla O’Scannell, Matthew Dakus, Nathaniel O’Connor, Bryant Hopkins and Andy Chamberlain

Officers present

Mari Frietag and Dillon Ball

Directors present

Corey Boiko


ASUAF Office Manager and Advisor Anne Williamson attended the meeting.


Daniel Stristle attended the meeting. Stristle is the new senate clerk.

Musical Chairs

Collingwood was the temporary senate chair for the meeting because O’Scannell was out of town.

Elections manual

Changes to the current elections manual included updating the name of the Community and Techincal College from Tanana Valley Campus Center. The changes also specified the that seven seats would be available during elections for both the fall and spring, rather than both semesters. The senate approved the changes to the elections manual by a vote of 7-0-1. Burley abstained.

Changes to bylaws

O’Scannell sponsored legislation “SB 179-007 Cleaning up the ASUAF Bylaws.” The legislation would change some of the wording in the current ASUAF bylaws to specify the specific roles of some of ASUAF members, like the web director. The changes also included the amount that each committee would be allocated for each semester. The legislation was sent to the internal affairs committee.

Elections bylaws

Walker sponsored “SB 179-005 Amendment to the Elections Bylaws.” The legislation would change the bylaws so members of the elections board can have more say in how senators are elected and which seats they run for. The senate passed the legislation by a vote of 6-2-0. Golub and Burley voted against the legislation.


The Club Council Ad-Hoc Committee sponsored “CCB 3-001.” The legislation budgeted the amount of money that was allocated to each campus club that applied for club council funding. The Ad Hoc Committee passed the legislation and sent it to the senate for approval. The senate approved the legislation by an 8-0 vote.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *